
2016 NFHS BASEBALL APPROVED RULINGS AND INTERPRETATIONS 

 

SITUATION #1: A head coach directs some vulgar and profane language at the base umpire.  When the 

base umpire ejects the head coach, the coach states that he cannot be ejected because he must first be 

warned by rule.  RULING: When an unsportsmanlike act using profane language directed at an umpire is 

judged to be a major violation, the penalty is an immediate ejection.  No warning is necessary.  (3‐3‐1f2 

Penalty) 

SITUATION #2: A written warning accompanied by a bench restriction must occur prior to an ejection.  

RULING:  If an unsportsmanlike act is judged to be a major violation, an ejection may be made without a 

prior warning being given.  Additionally, there are specific acts in Rule 3‐3‐1 l‐q, where the penalty is an 

immediate ejection.  (3‐3‐1f‐k Penalty, 3‐3‐1l‐q Penalty) 

SITUATION #3: A head coach is quite upset about a close call at home plate that went against his team.  

During the animated discussion, he bumps the plate umpire.  RULING: The head coach is ejected.  

Physical contact with an umpire, even if unintended or accidental, shall result in an ejection of the 

offender.  (3‐3‐1q Penalty) 

SITUATION #4: The first base assistant coach is irate over an “out” call on a steal at second base.  The 

assistant coach goes to the area around second base and, while arguing the call, kicks dirt on the base 

umpire.  RULING: The assistant coach is ejected; no warning is needed prior to the ejection.  The head 

coach is restricted to the bench for the remainder of the game.  (3‐3‐1q Penalty, 3‐3‐1f6 Penalty) 

SITUATION #5: During the course of the game, the plate umpire has provided what he considers to be 

numerous non‐verbal, preventative officiating type warnings to the head coach.  In the sixth inning, the 

coach, continuing to complain about various calls, is ejected by the plate umpire.  RULING: Unless the 

last event was a major unsportsmanlike act, the head coach must first receive a written warning and be 

restricted to the bench before an ejection.  (3‐3‐1f Penalty, 10‐2‐3j) 

SITUATION #6: Having previously received a written warning and a restriction to the dugout for a minor 

unsportsmanlike outburst, the coach again loudly complains about the plate umpire’s strike zone and 

performance.  RULING: Having been previously warned and restricted to the bench, any subsequent 

minor or a major violation shall result in ejection.  The coach is now ejected from the game.  (3‐3‐1f 

Penalty) 

SITUATION #7: What is a head coach that is restricted to the bench allowed to do?  RULING: Even 

though the head coach is restricted to the bench and may not occupy a coaching box, he is still the head 

coach.  He still represents the team in communications with umpires and may address and coach base 

runners, the batter, defensive players, and other coaches.   He may hold defensive or offensive charged 

conferences at the dugout or bench area.  He may leave the bench/dugout area to attend to a player 

who becomes ill or injured.  He may request to talk to an umpire concerning a rule or rule enforcement.  

However, he shall be ejected for any further misconduct.  (3‐2‐1, 3‐3‐1f Penalty) 



 

SITUATION #8: What may a coach who is ejected do?  RULING: A coach who is ejected shall leave the 

vicinity of the playing area immediately and is prohibited from further contact, direct or indirect, with 

the team during the remainder of the game.  His presence away from the field shall be such that he 

cannot be seen or heard from the playing field.  He may return when requested to attend to an ill or 

injured player.  (3‐3‐2) 

SITUATION #9: A pitcher comes to the mound wearing a “camo” compression sleeve that does not 

extend below the elbow.  RULING: A camo compression sleeve worn by the pitcher is legal.  (1‐4‐2) 

SITUATION #10: A pitcher is wearing a compression sleeve on his pitching arm that extends to his wrist.  

The compression sleeve is a solid black color.  RULING: This compression sleeve worn by the pitcher is 

legal.  Compression sleeves worn by the pitcher that extend below the elbow shall be solid black or solid 

dark colored.  (1‐4‐2) 

SITUATION #11: The pitcher has a white compression sleeve that extends only to this elbow on his (a) 

pitching arm; (b) non‐pitching arm; or (c) both arms.  RULING: This is legal in (a), (b), and (c).  

Compression sleeves worn by a pitcher that extend only to the elbow may be white or gray, or a solid 

black or dark color.  Compression sleeves may be worn on one arm (pitching or non‐pitching) or both 

arms. (1‐4‐2) 

SITUATION #12: The pitcher is wearing a long dark black compression sleeve to his wrist on one arm and 

a white compression sleeve that extends only to the elbow on the other arm.  RULING: This is legal 

provided the plate umpire does not judge this to be distracting to a batter.  (1‐4‐2; 6‐2‐1f) 

SITUATION #13: The pitcher has a compression sleeve that extends to his wrist.  The portion of the 

sleeve that is below the elbow is a dark solid color, while the portion of the sleeve that extends to the 

elbow is white.  RULING: This is not legal.  A compression sleeve that extends below the pitcher’s elbow 

must be a solid black or a solid dark color.  (1‐4‐2) 

SITUATION #14: The home team is wearing a vest type uniform with the shirt worn underneath the vest 

being white.  The sleeves of the shirt under the vest extend only to the elbow. RULING: This is legal.  A 

pitcher’s shirt worn under the vest is not an undershirt.  It may be white, provided it does not extend 

below the elbow.  (1‐4‐2) 

SITUATION #15: The visiting team is wearing a vest type uniform with the shirt worn underneath the 

vest being white and having its sleeves extending to the player’s wrist.  The plate umpire informs the 

coach that this is not legal for the pitcher.  The pitcher changes to a black shirt under the vest that the 

sleeves extends to his wrists and the opposing coach argues that this is not legal as uniforms must be of 

the same color and style.  RULING: It is legal, in this instance, for the pitcher to wear a shirt under his 

vest of a different color than the rest of the team.  Any sleeve worn by the pitcher that extends below 

his elbow must be a solid black or a solid dark color.  (1‐4‐1, 1‐4‐2) 



SITUATION #16: The catcher comes to warm up his pitcher in (a) the bull pen, or (b) on the field.  He 

takes a crouch position and is wearing a skull cap and a catcher’s mask that is not attached.  RULING: 

This is not compliant equipment for the catcher.  The catcher’s helmet and mask combination shall meet 

the NOCSAE standard and shall have full ear (dual ear flaps) protection.  (1‐5‐4) 

SITUATION #17: A left‐handed pitcher, attempts to pick‐off the runner at first base.  Simultaneously 

with his throw, the pitcher picks up his pivot foot and places it behind the pitcher’s plate.  The throw 

bounces off the first baseman’s glove and goes into dead ball territory.  The base umpire awards the 

runner third base, telling the defensive coach that the pitcher was an infielder and the award is two 

bases.  RULING: The award should be second base; only one base.  The status of the pitcher at the time 

he made the attempted pick‐off throw was still that of a pitcher; not an infielder.  After the pitcher has 

placed his pivot foot on the ground clearly behind the pitcher’s plate, his status then changes to that of 

an infielder.  Moving his pivot foot at the same time he attempts the pick‐off does not change his status 

as a pitcher.  (6‐1‐3, 8‐3‐3d) 

SITUATION #18: With a runner on first and no outs, the batter hits the pitch in the gap to left center 

field and R1 attempts to make third base. The center fielder overthrows third base and the pitcher, 

backing up the play, catches the throw, and then steps into the dugout.  RULING: This is a two base 

award to both runners, awarded from the time the pitcher stepped into the dugout.  The throw from 

the outfielder was complete when the pitcher caught it, and the subsequent action is a new one.  If both 

runners are between second and third, they both will be awarded home.  If they both were between 

first and second, R1 is awarded third and the batter is awarded second base.  (5‐1‐1i, 8‐3‐3c2, 8‐3‐5) 

SITUATION #19: The runner, R1 from third is attempting to score and is obstructed by the catcher who 

tags him on the play.  After the play is over, the home plate umpire declares “Time” and awards the 

runner home.  R1 does not touch home plate.  The next batter gets into the batter’s box and the plate 

umpire announces “Play.”  The pitcher next requests “Time” and appeals the runner not touching home 

plate.  RULING: This is a legal appeal, and the runner will be declared out and his run will no longer 

count.  All bases must be touched, even on an award.  A dead ball appeal may be made before the next 

legal or illegal pitch.  (8‐2‐1, 8‐2‐5 Penalty) 

SITUATION #20: The batter singles to right field and (a) the ball rolls to a stop and the right fielder, 

attempting to pick up the ball, kicks it into dead ball territory; or (b) the bounding ball strikes the right 

fielder’s leg and deflects into dead ball territory.  RULING: In (a), the right fielder applied the impetus 

that caused the ball to go into dead ball territory, the same as if he had thrown it there.  The award to 

any runner is two bases from the base occupied at the time of the kick.  In (b), the force on the batted 

ball caused the ball to go into dead ball territory, so the award to any runner is two bases from the base 

occupied at the time of the pitch.  (8‐3‐3c, 8‐3‐5) 

 


